Welcome to the Town of Big Bend in Rusk County!   

The Town of Big Bend is located in southern Rusk County, part of the Blue Diamond recreation area and was named for the big bend in the Chippewa River.  Originally it was part of Chippewa County.

We have 35.3 total square miles, 43.6 miles of roads, 32.6 square miles of land and 2.7 square miles of water including the Chippewa River, nine lakes and many streams.  There are two cemeteries, one owned by the Island Lake Cemetery Association and an Indian cemetery owned by the town. The unincorporated village of Island Lake lies within the town's boundaries.  There was, at one time, a grist mill where the current Island Lake Dam is located.  The town was called Emet and had a post office in the general store.  The name of the unicorporated municpality within the Town of Big Bend was changed to Island Lake, and is located along Highway 40.

Town of Big Bend Town Hall

N1195 State Highway 40

New Auburn, WI 54757

Phone:  715-868-5775

E-Mail:  bigbend@brucetel.net

Calendar of Events

Oct 10, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Oct 17, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Oct 24, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Oct 31, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Nov 04, 2015, Wed 07:00pm
Nov 14, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Nov 28, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Dec 02, 2015, Wed 07:00pm
Dec 12, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Dec 26, 2015, Sat 08:00am
Jan 09, 2016, Sat 08:00am
Jan 23, 2016, Sat 08:00am
Feb 13, 2016, Sat 08:00am
Feb 27, 2016, Sat 08:00am